Day Trip: Bok Tower Gardens

I literally stumbled upon this beauty of a place by surprise!

One day my boyfriend tells me to get ready because we are going somewhere and he can’t tell me because it is a surprise. After driving, and driving, and driving, (because when you are in the car and are anxious these things feel like FOREVER!!) did I mention that we were driving? Anyways I finally see signs to Bok Tower Gardens, we have arrived at the surprise, and so far I am psyched with excitement! Amazing and beautiful already and we haven’t even gotten to the good stuff yet!

We pay the entrance, park the car, and head up to the welcome center. In there are some helpful people that give you some maps and information about the the whole place. There is also a video you can watch with some history about the gardens and tower itself. I do recommend watching the video, it has some cool history!

After that you are let loose to practically get lost (not REALLY lost, you can always find your way, I’m speaking figuratively) in the huge beautiful gardens. Words can’t explain how lovely it looks really. So I’ll let some pictures do the talking here.

Also there is of course the tower itself! It’s a 205 ft beautiful tower that sings too! Sings? Yes, the carillon bells can be heard every half hour, and at 1pm and 3pm each day there is a concert. The sounds that come from this huge tower are beautiful and amazing. And here we go again with some more photos!

I suggest taking the whole day to experience the entire thing. They have a cafeteria there so you can stop in for lunch, or also pack a picnic and eat at some of the benches they have set up for such occasion!

Hours: 8am – 6pm (they sell the last admission at 5pm though) and is open 365 days a year.
Admission: Adults $12 | Kids (5-12) $3 | Kids (Under 5) Free

Directions:
(I’m talking this part directly from they’re website…you don’t want to hear directions from me, I’m horrible at it)

From Orlando, take I-4 West
From Tampa, Take I-4 East
Proceed on I-4 to Exit 55. Take Exit 55 and proceed south on U.S. Highway 27 for approximately 23 miles. Proceed two traffic lights past Eagle Ridge Mall. Turn left on Mountain Lake Cut Off Road. At the caution light, turn right (south) onto County Road 17 (also known as Scenic Highway). Proceed on CR 17 for 3/4 miles. Turn left (east) onto Burns Avenue (also known as County Road 17-A). Proceed on Burns Avenue for 1.3 miles. On your left you’ll see a main entrance sign to Bok Tower Gardens. Turn left and proceed to the entrance gate.

From Highway 60 East or West:
Go to Lake Wales and proceed north on U.S. Highway 27. Turn right on Mountain Lake Cutoff Road. At the caution light, turn right (south) onto County Road 17 (also known as Scenic Highway). Proceed on CR 17 for 3/4 miles. Turn left (east) onto Burns Avenue (also known as County Road 17-A). Proceed on Burns Avenue for 1.3 miles. On your left you’ll see a main entrance sign to Bok Tower Gardens. Turn left and proceed to the entrance gate.

From Vero Beach, Take Highway 60 West:
Go to Lake Wales. At Buck Moore Road (the intersection just past WalMart), turn North (right) onto Buck Moore Road (also known as 17-B). Turn between SunTrust and Walgreen’s. Proceed approximately 1.3 miles. At the stop light, turn West (left) onto County Road 17-A (also called Burns Ave.). Proceed on CR 17-A approximately .7 mile to the entrance of Bok Tower Gardens on your right.

For anything and everything else I didn’t cover you can check out their website.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment